Lesson Learned: Open to Feedback

I consider myself a very open person. I’m willing to share anything you want to know about me. However, I never…ever ask for feedback. I’ll share with you what I think about me, but I don’t really want to know what you think about me. Because of fear, pride, and 100 other reasons.

I recently was exposed to the feedback monster against my will and it bit me pretty hard. I received feedback that cut me to my core. That I’m perceived as cold, uncaring and will plow over anyone to get what I want – OUCH!!!! As much as I don’t think this is reality, it’s someone’s reality about me.

So, what do I do now knowing this harsh reality? I can crumble, become paralyzed, become defensive (which I did all of these things by the way). My mentor helped me analyze this feedback in a positive way and the most important thing I learned was that feedback must have context and you must learn from feedback and MOVE ON! As simple as it sounds, it helped me tremendously to hear this. I need to move on. I need to rely on Jesus for my approval and not what others think about me. I need to treat people with the love of Jesus and take time to get to know who is around me and genuinely care for them. If I’m doing those things then I can rest easily.

The hardest part now will be opening myself up to more feedback. Anyone…?

Leave a Reply

