Out of Sorts

I’ve been broken and out of sorts the past couple of days. Anxious for nothing, mind wandering, moody, and completely strange. I have a feeling it’s because we are low on cash (after my crazy shopping spree on Black Friday).

I admit it, a part of my emotional state is completely run by money. It’s been so bad that this morning I loaded my car with all of the goodies from Black Friday in which I worked so hard to acquire and I returned almost everything – just so I would feel the comfort of a padded bank account again…YIKES!

What an odd way for God to reveal something in my life that I need to let go of. Money is not my comfort. Shopping is not my comfort. Having nice things is not my comfort. Only You are.

God…I lay it all down again.

7 thoughts on “Out of Sorts

  1. kudos for taking that step and returning things. not because the purchase of them or the items themselves are in and of themselves wrong. but because you recognized the underlying motivation of your heart in buying them was wrong.

    hard lesson, but man, i agree with tam: you are one wise woman.

    and you know what? God always honors obedience to Him.

  2. 1) Sounds like you had what Sean had.
    2) “Doctor doctor it hurts when I do that.”
    3) “Don’t do that.”
    4) God forgives, loves and accepts you. Those around you do too. It’s alright for you to forgive, love and accept you.

  3. from Amy’s new Christmas album:

    I need a Silent Night
    A Holy Night to hear an angel voice through the chaos and the noise
    I need a midnight clear
    A little peace right here to end this crazy day with a Silent NIght

    It’s ministering to my heart as I’m tempted, stretched, and tired of running and racing to make Christmas. Maybe it would do the same for you…

Leave a Reply

