Family to Me

Being raised in a Hispanic family in a small town has made the definition of family blurry to me. The random stranger you meet at the grocery store is apparently your cousin and the nice gentleman at church is “Brother” John. 

Now, as I grow older, the definition grows even fuzzy-er. I have in-laws who are more like my friends and I have friends that feel like they are family. To add to that, I have a church family whom I adore and love.

All this to say, I think I’m finally understanding what God intended for us as the Family of God…we are all children with ONE FATHER and led by ONE SPIRIT. I have never felt so surrounded by loving people as much as I have this year. Although only a few of them are “blood relatives”, all of them are family!

8 thoughts on “Family to Me

  1. yes! i have, too, this last year become overwhelmed, in a good way, with the relationships in my life. so many “family” like relationships. it is almost indescribable. but beautiful!

  2. It seems to me, Judi….that you’ve received a taste of Heaven. I deeply appreciate you reminding us….what we really are.

    There is beautiful unity in the body of Christ. Paul wrote so clearly to the church at Ephesus: “There is one body and one Spirit- just as you were called to one hope when you were called- one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.”

    As the Father and the Son look over us from the throne room of Heaven today, they see no denominations, no walls of separation or division, no race or colors, no family names….

    All they see: “is family….”

Leave a Reply

