Pure Poetry

I think this is the most poetic scripture in the bible:

Proverbs 3:3
Let not mercy and truth forsake you;
      Bind them around your neck, 
              Write them on the tablet of your heart

What is written on my heart? I fear that it is not mercy and truth, but rules and lies. Now, I understand it when Mark cries out during worship for God to break his heart…the tablet of his heart. The tablet that should be broken so God can re-write his love story on my heart.

What is your favorite bible scripture and why?!?!

7 thoughts on “Pure Poetry

  1. micah 6.8
    “He has shown you, O man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to DO JUSTLY; to LOVE MERCY, and to WALK HUMBLY with your God”

    that is SOOOO my favorite verse and is my life mission statement that I use to gauge my choices. Love it!

    Sounds like our verses are friends! I’m glad we are now too!!! 🙂

  2. Judi,

    Hebrews 12:2a
    “Looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith”

    The world, the flesh, and Satan are ceaselessly grasping for my eyes…. and eventually my soul. But I MUST keep “looking unto Jesus”…..no matter what….

  3. @Tam – love anything that challenges my faith

    @Cathi – Glad we are friends too…blog rolled baby!!!

    @Deanna – thanks for commenting. I am gloating in the fact that Capital D commented on my blog. Humbled too though…

    @Dwight – awesome word. I’m going to use that in youth group on Wednesday – booyah!

Leave a Reply

