In Need of Wisdom

Smarts can only get you so far. I’m realizing that this week.

In order to do my job well, I have to be quick, confident and SMART. People of any faith could do my job well.

But now, my boss just announced that he is leaving and there is a huge shift in our department. I wiFrustrated at Workll have a new boss and a new spot on the team. All of my hard work will be evaluated, and I will have to “prove my worth” to my new boss and others.

I’m not the only one in this situation however. There are several others in my exact position and they are creating ways for themselves to GET NOTICED and GET AHEAD. Some of it’s cut throat, and some of it is WISE.

I need to be WISE. I need to pray about this. Smarts will not get me through this. I don’t want to compromise my integrity to get ahead during uncertain times. I want to use Godly principles and truth. Sometimes I just want to be sneaky and cut around everyone to get to the top. I can’t do that – I won’t do that.

But what do I do when others do that to ME??

Advice…anyone!?!?!

14 thoughts on “In Need of Wisdom

  1. “I will have to “prove my worth” to my new boss and others.”

    The best way to get ahead is to do your job to the best of your ability, don’t cause problems for your boss, and stay out of whatever backstabbing stuff the less moral coworkers are planning. As someone who graduated law school I can tell you that standing out from a crowd of folks who would stab their mothers in the back to get ahead isn’t hard when you are the only one focused on doing your task, doing it well, and doing it with a sense of moral integrity.

  2. Judi-I’m going through exactly the same thing. New boss, uncertain expectations, and feeling like what I once excelled at may not even matter now. Yuk!

    Then I read this verse in the Message:
    “Don’t just do what you have to do to get by, but work heartily, as Christ’s servants doing what God wants you to do. And work with a smile on your face, always keeping in mind that no matter who happens to be giving the orders, you’re really serving God….” Ephesians 6:5.

    I didn’t like that much, but it did give me some perspective! Hope that helps…

  3. Go for the jugular.

    It’s a dog eat dog world and you don’t want to be the one wearing milkbone underwear.

    Get in there and fight like a man. Sheech, don’t you hate Perry’s wife.

    Just 1or2thougths for you Judi.

  4. Your confidence seems to be low in yourself and your job. It’s clear that you are very kind, smart, beautiful, and should have a clear vision that God has given you talents, given us all talents. But it’s up to us how far we take those talents. Speaking from experience some road blocks do come your way, but hard work, learning as much as you can from those who already know, and adding your talent to the mix, will take you as far as you wish. Backstabbing is temporary gain and is soon followed by failure.
    As an Art Director that has won several international awards, for one of the industries most respected companies. With no college experience, but hard work and taking that talent that gave to me as a artist, has given me a wonderful life.

    Be proud, Be confident and follow Gods path even if the path isn’t clear at the time. It will soon open to a clear beautiful valley!

  5. Small town dad: thank you…thank you…thank you!

    I would love to hear more about your career! My new boss is really an art director so adding me to the mix is new territory for him too!

  6. Understand that the backstabbing is motivate by fear. So in a way, getting stabbed in the back is a compliment. Someone would have to be afraid that you are doing a better job than them.

    I used to get all concerned when getting stabbed (like in email flame warfare). Not anymore. Now I laugh and try to say things to smooth over any rough edges. I try to make co-workers and bosses aware that I value them and have no aspirations to “take their jobs.”

  7. I have worked for Large companies, that also changed management and ownership often. I have seen some very talented people let go in order to bring their own in. Scary, I know, but most that truly had talent and worked hard moved on to even better jobs. I decided after 75 hour weeks, newly married (23 years ago), and yes hoping for kids (sounding familiar), that I wanted to work for a company that knew my name and appreciated my talents. I now work for a small Engraving/Printing company that is noted to be one of the best in the world since 1916 (no I’m not that old). They have been incredible to me and my family for 22 years, and my job has allowed me to spend more quality time with my wife and 2 beautiful girls (17 &14). I’m sure your talents, and smarts exceeds mine, you just need to believe in it.

  8. Serve your guts out and expect nothing. If you are on a good team with a good leader, you will have a place…for a long time.

    And remember serving and work are totally different

  9. Back in my corporate days, I experienced this a few times and I always wrestled with the same questions. Pray for God’s direction and discernment. There will be places where you need to assert yourself and likely speak up for yourself since you have co-workers that are jockeying for positions too. Most of all don’t resort to compromising your character or who you are. You are amazing and you’ll do great!

  10. in my experience, i’ve always held onto “doing my work as unto the Lord”. as long as i’m in that office for those hours, i go above and beyond what’s on my job description. if i do my job as unto the Lord, well, there’s nothing i would hold back from God. keep a Godly attitude in the face of adversity and if any come your way, remember that God is your defense and your strength. you will progress in your career that will be a testimony to God’s grace and peace. it’s ALWAYS worked for me.
    it’s not an allowance for people to walk all over you, but the people that Lord needs to see it will. be the woman of integrity and honesty that you are and the LORD will most definitely bless you.

  11. Pingback: Looking at Circumstances « judi free!

Leave a Reply

