Everyday wonderful…

I describe my blog as a “guide to everyday wonderful”. Rita Thomas, my mother-in-law, told me once that marriage really can be everyday wonderful. This concept changed EVERYTHING for me.

A Great Love

I want to share with you the abundant wisdom she shared with me concerning marriage. Her marriage is a true testament of great love, respect, and friendship. Mark & I have incorporated everything she taught us, and we believe that our marriage and love will go down in history as one of the greatest love stories ever.

Over the next 10 days I will share something she taught me. Even if you are not married, you can use these as good counsel for the future.

Starting in reverse order:

 #10: Never, EVER, say the “D” word

This one seems like a no-brainer, but you’d be surprised how many people violate this. Even in your most heated fights or trying times – NEVER let the “D” word (divorce) enter your home or even your thoughts. More to come….

6 thoughts on “Everyday wonderful…

  1. random thought: I’ve heard the divorce rate is so high in the church today because secular couples work harder at the marriage because divorce is a possibility. Obviously, I am not contradicting what you say. When you make a commitment to the person you love, seperation is not an option. I just think that it’s also an everyday choice to love your mate. (which I am sure you will be covering in the future). I am excited to read these. I really respect your marriage, and obviously Chuck and Rita’s. It’s so cool how enamored they are with each other after all these years.

  2. I see what your saying Josh but I tend to disagree. If divorce is an option people will only work hard to a point because they know they always have an out. If it isn’t an option you would do anything to make your spouse and yourself happy, no one wants to live each day in a bad relationship. Sucks that the statistics show the church as having a higher divorce rate, it makes no logical sense to me.

  3. Josh, my role model, Dennis Prager also brought up this point. It’s a really good point that without the threat of divorce, some couples don’t feel a need to continually “impress” or work on their marriage. I think it’s a much deeper issue when you get to that point as a Christian married couple – if you are following the other 9 guidelines, you will never even get to that point. I will address those in future posts.

  4. JudiFree, This is one of the highest compliments that I have ever received. To have my beautiful “daughter” n-law honor me like this is awesome. Thank you for your love and even listening to me…. I do have a tendency to ramble.
    You have exceeded our dreams of what Mark’s wife would be… I love you, Judith… I really do.

  5. Awww, I came to make a comment and now your mom-in-law has made me all teary!

    Okay, where was I? Oh yes…the D word…

    Jake and I have made that mistake. A few times. The last time I was pregnant and irrational and totally on an emotional edge for nine months and I drove him so crazy HE said it. Before I had been the one to say it. I think because I am a child of divorce, my mind just went there. He’s not, so his never did. We made a decision early in our marriage (after I had said it twice) that it would NEVER be a possibility or even a consideration. And I must clarify, when he said it the last time (when I was pg) he thought I was thinking it so he just said it first…make sense? I’m tellin ya, when I’m pregnant, I’m KARAYZEE!!!! 😆 So anyway, yes I agree with you 1 million percent! Jake and I have stressed this point a LOT with my sister and her husband. *sigh* Not sure it’s gotten through to them, but time will tell.

    The best thing about knowing it’s NEVER an option is that you aren’t so scared in a fight. I know that in the first couple of years we were married I became terrified with every fight thinking “is it over?” because that’s what I grew up with. Now I feel freedom in fighting….if that makes sense. I know we can have a fight/disagreement/discussion/whatever and it won’t affect the outcome of whether or not we stay married….y/k?

    okay, THAT was a loooong comment. 😆

Leave a Reply

